Wiki Forum Sign up! Explore Home

 

Tutorial

Registration

Creating an account for use with ClockingIT is done from here.

If you're planning on using ClockingIT with several people, make sure only one of you sign up, then add the others from the Users page when logged in – if not you'll all end up in different companies and not be able to work together.

Also choose a subdomain for your group of people, which is easy to remember as that will be your login link for ClockingIT. Using a subdomain (the mycompany part of http://mycompany.clockingit.com) allows each company to have its own and separate account space so you don't have to fight over the more popular usernames. This also means that you can use the same email address or username across several companies if you should want to create accounts for several companies.

Users

To make sure all the people you want to join you in ClockingIT end up in the company you've created, add them from the Users page. Click the New User link on the Users page to bring up the new user form, and fill out the relevant information. An invitation email with the account details you've entered will be sent to the email you specify, along with a login link so the person you add can log in and start working immediately.

It is highly recommend you write up a message to them in the signup email telling the user their username and password.

If you want the person you add to be able to add further users or clients, make sure you tick the Administrator checkbox, otherwise (s)he won't be able to see or modify the users list or the clients list.

Overview

The Overview page is where you interface with your projects and milestones, views, and you can get a good overview of your most important and most recent tasks. You can also see a log of recent activities across all the projects you have access to.

The importance of a task is based on the severity, priority and due date.

You can log time and complete tasks from this page, by clicking on the clock icon - - as well as complete a task by ticking the checkbox next to the task name.

Projects

A project is a collection of tasks, which all people with read permission can access. To create a new project, click the New link to the right of the Projects header on the Overview page, and enter a project name and select a Client from the drop down list. You can't do much in ClockingIT without at least one project defined, so creating a project or two should probably be the first thing you do.

Once you have created a project, you'll be taken to the detail page of the project, where you can add new milestones, as well as grant or revoke access to the project. To give someone access to the project, click the to the right of the name of the user for basic access and then give them whatever further access you feel they need. An explanation of the different permissions can be found in the permissions section of this small tutorial.

To edit a previously created project, go to the Overview page, and click on the icon that pops up to the left when you mouse over the project name.

Clicking the project name on the Overview page takes you to a page showing all tasks belonging to that project.

Milestones

In software development, you often have to deliver a set of features at a specific date. This is often called a milestone (examples are Alpha, Beta, version 0.1, version 1.0, demo, etc). ClockingIT allows you to create your own milestones and attach whatever tasks are relevant to this milestone.

To create the milestone, go to the Overview page and mouse over the project you want to add a milestone to. Click the edit button that pops up to the left of the project, and from the project detail page, click the New link, top right of the Milestone area. Enter a name, description, and a due date (if it applies to your milestone) and finally click the Create button.

Note: You can also add a new milestone in line while adding or editing a task. You can click the plus icon next to the Milestone dropdown. A popup window will appear where you can enter the name and details of the milestone. When done, the Milestone dropdown on the main task form will refresh, and you can select the newly added milestone.

Whenever you edit or create a task in the project that the milestone belongs to, you'll be able to select the milestone from a drop down list. The task will then use the due date from the milestone, unless you override it on that specific task. Any changes to the milestones due date will be reflected on the task.

You will also see an entry for the milestone on the Overview page, along with a progress bar showing your progress with this milestone. Clicking the milestone name on the Overview shows you a filtered task view with all tasks belonging to the milestone.

Permissions

Projects have users assigned to them and all users have permissions which can be managed (edited) by clicking on Edit User icon . The following screenshot shows the permissions available for a project, which can be granted to users:

Read Comment Work Close Create Edit Assign Prioritize Milestones Reports Grant All

As can be seen, most of the permissions are self explanatory - those are the actions which can be taken by the user to whom the specific permission is granted.

Tasks

Resources

Tags

Comments

Attachments

Search

By entering a phrase or a word in the search field on the menu bar, you can search across all tasks and log entries you have access to. You can also enter a task number with a # in front of it (#123) to go directly to the task with that assigned number.

If the phrase you are looking for contains a - (dash) you will need to escape the -. The dash works as a NOT. e.g.: you want to search for 03-30 type the phrase in the search box as 03\-30.

Views

Once you have more than a few tasks, you'll grow tired of browsing your way to the tasks you need. This is where Views come into play. They're basically a saved set of filters which can either be created from scratch by clicking New to the right of the Views heading on the Overview page, or they you can browse your tasks and click Save as View when you're happy with the filters.

There are four default Views that everyone has, and those are 'Open Tasks', 'My Open Tasks', 'My In Progress Tasks', and 'Unassigned Tasks' which all are pretty self explanatory.

By ticking the 'Shared' checkbox, your newly created view will be usable by all other people in your company.

Timeline

Reports

Change the Report Time Format

  • Click on Preferences in the top menu
  • Under the heading Options find and change the Duration Format to 59:04

Printing

Once you have a screen full of information that you want to print, just go ahead and print that screen (print preview to test how it will look). When you print a screen from ClockingIT, alternate CSS styles will be applied to the page. In other words, the information on your screen will be reformatted automatically at printing so that it makes sense in printed form.

Import/Export

Data can be accessed via iCal format and RSS feed. Look for the RSS icon and the calendar icon in the RECENT ACTIVITIES heading on the Overview page.

Reports and Browse/Views can also be exported in CSV format (which can be opened in MS Excel and other similar programs, as needed).

Stay tuned for future upgrades that will allow for a more complete import/export of the data.

Files

Notes

 
wiki/tutorial.txt · Last modified: 2011/07/14 19:47 by jfbosch
 
Recent changes RSS feed Creative Commons License Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki